Hazardous Materials

In 1980, a Hazardous Materials Response Team was established in Pueblo County, which consists of five Designated Emergency Response Agencies (DERA). The DERA includes Pueblo City Fire Department, Pueblo Rural Fire Department, Pueblo West Fire Department, Rye Fire District, and Pueblo County Department of Public Safety and Operations.

Each response agency oversees a particular area within the county. However, mutual aid agreements exist to support all areas with an exchange of manpower and equipment. The main role of the Pueblo Department of Public Health and Environment's Environmental Health Division in hazardous materials response is to assist the DERA in the areas of technical support, clean-up, and disposal procedures and protection of the surrounding environment. In addition to incident response, our Division investigates citizen complaints regarding hazardous materials and assists the public in determining appropriate disposal measures.

For information about hazardous household waste you may have in your cupboards or garage, click here

Contact Information 719-583-4307